Study Steering Committee

Joanna Foster: Lay Chair, former chair of the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre and of the NHS Chairs' Forum

Caroline Shuldham: Senior NHS Clinician (nurse), Experienced Nurse Executive and former Director of Nursing and Clinical Governance

Tony Berendt: Senior NHS Clinician, Medical Director, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Joanna Goodrich: Improvement specialist, Point of Care Foundation (stepped down in the latter stages of the project once it was agreed the Point of Care Foundation would develop the online resource)

Leigh Kendall: Communications Manager (Patient Experience and Quality), Milton Keynes University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Manoj Mistry: Patient/carer advisor

Bernard Gudgin: Patient/carer advisor

Louise Locock: Principal Investigator, University of Oxford

Chris Graham: Co-investigator, Picker Institute

Full Research Team

Principal investigator

Prof. Louise Locock, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK and Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen, Aberdeen, UK

Co-investigators

Dr. Chris Graham, Picker Institute Europe, Oxford, UK Ms. Jenny King, Picker Institute Europe, Oxford, UK Ms. Elizabeth Gibbons, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Ms. Jennifer Bostock, Lay representative, Oxford, UK Ms. Melanie Gager, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Reading, UK Dr. Neil Churchill, NHS England, London, UK Prof. Sue Dopson, Saïd Business School, Oxford, UK Prof. Ray Fitzpatrick, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Prof. Trish Greenhalgh, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Prof. John Powell, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Prof. Sue Ziebland, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Prof. Angela Coulter, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Prof. Crispin Jenkinson, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK Dr. Sian Rees, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Ethnographer team

Dr. Stephen Parkin, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
Dr. Alison Chisholm, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
Dr. Catherine Montgomery, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Picker Institute

Dr. Esther Ainley, Picker Institute Europe, Oxford, UK Dr. Steve Sizmur, Picker Institute Europe, Oxford, UK

NHS England

Mrs. Rachel White, NHS England, London, UK

Project co-ordination

Dr. Angela Martin, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Appendix 17: Lay Panel Membership

Lay Panel Chair

Jennifer Bostock

Lay Panel Members

Barbara Bass Tina Longhurst Georgina McMasters Carol Munt Gillian Richards Tracey Richards Gordon Sturmey Karen Swaffield Ann Tomline Paul Whitehouse